Manchester United will play PSV Eindhoven, CSKA Moscow and Wolfsburg in Group B of this season’s UEFA Champions League group stage.

Louis van Gaal will return to the Netherlands for the PSV Eindhoven clash which will also mean a trip back to his former club for Memphis Depay. United have played the current Dutch champions four times with the earliest meetings coming in the second round of the 1984/85 UEFA Cup. The first leg in the Netherlands ended goalless before the Reds recorded a 1-0 victory in the return match at Old Trafford. More recently, United faced the Dutch club in the 2000/01 group stage. The Reds lost 3-1 in the away fixture, but reversed the score at Old Trafford three weeks later thanks to goals from Paul Scholes, Teddy Sheringham and Dwight Yorke.

United last played CSKA Moscow, who were runners-up in the Russian Premier League last season, in the 2009/10 group stage. Antonio Valencia scored the winner in the away match at the Luzhniki Stadium, the venue for the Reds’ 2008 Champions League triumph, before the two teams played out a 3-3 draw back in Manchester.

Wolfsburg, runners-up to Bayern Munich in the Bundesliga last term, are participating in the Champions League group stage for only the second time in their history. The first time they were in it was in 2009/10 when they played United in the group stage – Michael Carrick and Ryan Giggs secured a 2-1 home win for the Reds, before a Michael Owen hat-trick sealed a 3-1 away victory.

Tuesday, September 15 – PSV Eindhoven (A)
Wednesday, September 30 – Wolfsburg (H)
Wednesday, October 21 – CSKA Moscow (A)
Tuesday, November 3 – CSKA Moscow (H)
Wednesday, November 25 – PSV Eindhoven (H)
Tuesday December 8 – Wolfsburg (A)

Group A: Paris St-Germain, Real Madrid, Shakhtar Donetsk, Malmo
Group B: PSV Eindhoven, United, CSKA Moscow, Wolfsburg
Group C: Benfica, Atletico Madrid, Galatasaray, Astana
Group D: Juventus, Manchester City, Sevilla, Monchengladbach
Group E: Barcelona, Bayer Leverkusen, AS Roma, Bate
Group F: Bayern Munich, Arsenal, Olympiacos, Dinamo Zagreb
Group G: Chelsea, FC Porto, Dynamo Kyiv, Maccabi Tel-Aviv
Group H: Zenit Saint Petersburg, Valencia, Lyon, Gent